Disclaimer 1 This notes were largely derived from JHD's own notes and integrated by OC with her own handwritten minutes. JHD and OC have tried to capture some quotes, but these have not been checked by the quoted authors, so should not be attributed to them.

1 OpenMath Society Meeting

MS opened the meeting, and welcomed 14 new members: Sebasti Xamb, Hans Cuipers, Christine Mller, Normen Mller, Florian Rabe, Christoph Lange, Patrick Ion, Sam Dooley, Robert Miner, Margret Hitchcliffe, Odd Bringslid, Lionel Mamane, Masakazu Suzuki, Matti Pauna. He introduced a draft agenda, many of whose items were laid down by Finnish law/custom.

- 1. Election of Chair
- 2. Election of Secretary and Minute Checkers
- 3. Annual Report
- 4. Adoption of Balance Sheet and discharge of the Executive Committee
- 5. Election of the Executive Committee
- 6. MathML/OpenMath alignment
- 7. Any Other Business

This agenda was adopted. MS was elected Chair. OC was elected Minute Secretary. RM and MK were elected as Minute Checkers.

The Society had no formal activities in the last year, but the web site had been moved to DFKI (thanks to PL). There were no financial transactions. It should be noted that this was a good situation, since it meant that OpenMath is on track. PL said that more activity in the area of Content Dictionaries should be reflected on the web site.

MS said that there was no balance sheet, but this was corrected to read that there was a zero balance sheet. On this basis, the Executive Committee was discharged.

AMC had indicated a wish to stand down as President. The Meeting elected MK as President, MCD (continuing) as Vice-President, OC as Secretary of the Society, MG, MS and SMW as members-at-large. Although not an Executive Committee rôle, JHD was re-elected as Content Dictionary Editor.

The Chair of the meeting was handed to MK. He said that there seemed to be general agreement to produce a new OpenMath standard. He said that the next OM Society meeting should be in February/March 2008 (in order to meet the W3C timetable). JHD asked whether we had to produce OpenMath 3, or whether it might be more minor. MK thought that OpenMath 3 had good "marketing" rationale.

MK asked whether there was any other requirement for the new version. JHD raised the requirement for a "defining" property, which he would be in favour of. MK agreed with this. PL asked whether multiple such properties would be allowed. JHD said that that was for debate, but that they should certainly only be allowed if they were *proved* consistent.

MK proposed, and MS seconded, that we moved to a new OpenMath Standard, name to be decided. This was carried. Such a standard would need a working group to draft it. MK proposed himself, OC, JHD, DPC and MG. PL said that, if notations were to be included, he would like to be included. This group of six was formally constituted. JHD asked whether it was to be C_6 or S_3 , since they were not isomorphic as Content Dictionaries. MK said C_6 . The discussions of this group would be public by default on a new mailing list .

PL remarked that AMC has suggested to remove inactive members from the Society and MS replied that this is only possibly if they have harmed OpenMath.

After a question from PI to clarify that the group should endorse the idea of aligning OM with MML3, MK proposed that the group should also be chartered to produce a set of Content Dictionaries aligned with MathML 3, to cover K–14. The goal should be a joint publication, W3C politics permitting.

The Meeting expressed its thanks to AMC for leading the Society, and MS for his able organisation. PI expressed his admiration for the Finnish efficiency in handling business meetings.

Thanks: OC wishes to thank JHD for supplying his own notes. Personæ

AMC Arjeh Cohen.

DPC David Carlisle.

JHD James Davenport.

MCD Mike Dewar.

MG Marc Gaëtano.

MK Michael Kohlhase.

 $\mathbf{MS}\,$ Mika Seppälä.

OC Olga Caprotti.

PI Patrick Ion.

PL Paul Libbrecht.

RM Robert Minor.

SMW Stephen Watt.